Where’d you like to be?

Hummm~

For most of my life, I didn’t really know what I wanted to do.
I found this section.. love it.
Just got promoted and trying to sink myself into the new role.
But, now they’re asking me about my plan in 5 years time.
Seriously, I have no clue.

It’s fine that they’d like me to think about what courses I’d like to take.
Learn new things or maybe if I’d like to switch my scope of work.
Oh… no no no no…
No one can ask me that.

Sure, maybe I do have a draft plan of what I’m going to do for the next 2 years.
But, that’s it.
Who’s to say that I’d find something else I’d fall in love with?
That somehow, I decide to relocate?

I like the flexibility of my mind wandering off to whatever I feel like going to.
It’s not to say that things aren’t stable.
Just saying that I don’t like to be micromanaged or controlled by anyone
Or even be so rigid with life that you’d have to plan 5-10 years in advance.

Things change..
People change…
The environment changes…
For example, what if the office closes down (it can happen)?
After all, they work based on a yearly budget.

I was trying so many different factors in IT all these years that you can’t bog me down to one niche.
Just because I love something right now does not mean I’d want to do it forever.
Or just because I can move on, that doesn’t mean I won’t decide to leave this field altogether eventually.

I don’t care if it works for others, but, it doesn’t work that way for me.
I feel more like a freelancer moving from one place to another my whole life.
I love the upbeat of going to places and doing/learning new things.
I remember breaking down and being so depressed and angry for a couple of months before I quit a particular job.
People were awesome.. work was stable and nice.. no problems at all.. just that I grew tired of the monotonous cycle. Hated it so much.
No one understood why I was being so weird.
But, that’s me.
I can’t stay still.

I can’t say that I plan to be a director of so and so in 5 years time.
What makes anyone think that I’d even want to be one?
My aim in life isn’t like so.
It’s more of doing something fulfilling and what I enjoy and love doing.
Maybe I would love to next time when I’m way way way wayyyyyy older… /shrugs
Who knows?
But, not now.

Don’t ask me what I want to do in 5 years time.
I can’t give you an answer to that.

❤ Icesabel

 

10 thoughts on “Where’d you like to be?

  1. Congratulations huggers 😀 on the promotion. so you went for it. that is great news.

    And there is only one answer i could think of.
    In 5 years time I do not know but in the time given i will out grow the person I am today. and be an even better person.

    keep on smiling.

    • I’m only planning to do the same thing for work for the next 2 years. I’ve just been given a whole new scope of work right now so I’m just going to keep to it for now.

Shoutout!

