Elixir of Perfection

Yesterday, my other half suddenly stared at me while we were eating and asked if I was wearing makeup.
I replied with one word, “yes” and asked “why?”.
(But, I’m not into thick makeup because of my sensitive skin)
I was surprised by his next question.
“Did you go for surgery? Your skin looks too perfect.”
Ughhh…
I wouldn’t call that a compliment. >_>

A surgery???
Of all things.
Of course I said no… paused a while to ponder what I’ve done different lately.

So, I’m sharing with you that “elixir of perfection”.
lol

 

 

But before that, I’d better update on the Paula’s Choice I bought and talked about a little more than a month back.
Well, I returned them and got my money back (they were pretty quick at doing so).
I was trying my luck in trying new products.

I’ve mentioned so many times that I have sensitive skin.
What happened after using them for a couple of weeks was that my body, face and scalp started to have acne and pimples.
Well, that happens whenever my skin hates something.
So, I had no choice, but, to return them.
From the raves and whatnot, a lot of people love those stuff, so, I’m guessing that I’m one of those from the small percentage who have a few levels higher of a sensitive skin than them.

That is why I can’t use a lot of brands randomly.
Test and try only one type for a couple of weeks, to see if that one suits me.
If I did try a couple at a time, I wouldn’t know which one was causing the distress.

Anyway, apparently, on the week when I was about to return the stuff, my mum surprised me with buying 2 products.
I think it was pure Arganium Oil and a bar of natural soap.
In 2 days, my shiny (yes, they’re always shiny with my oily face) forehead which was clear, had perfect time of itself with a party of pimples.
I looked like a teenager with imbalanced hormone.
So, I specifically explained to my mum I have sensitive skin (you know.. my mum and me aren’t exactly the best of friends since I was young) and gave it back to her.
She asked if I wanted to go to some skin salon (or whatever it’s called) for treatment and facials.
I said a huge “NO”.
Come on.. my wedding is in 8 months and you want me to trust these things on me?
And continued on “I’ve read far too many bad reviews about so many of these companies.”
Plus, even if I go to the one my younger sister went to a few years back, it doesn’t guarantee that it’ll suit my skin.

So, she rummaged through her stuff and said there’s this cooling powder thingy that might just work.
Just to appease her, I let her put water on the powder to make a paste and slather it on my back.
I have pimples all over my body by the way, so, it’s way “safer” than trying them on my face.
A few minutes later, my body itched… insanely.
I was like… MUMMMMM.. it’s itchy!!!!
Guess she panicked, quickly used a wet towel to wiped everything off.
Finally, she admitted, “you REALLY have sensitive skin”.
Uhmmm.. I’ve been saying that so many times. -_-”

The next day, she told me she got rashes from trying the oil, that I’ve returned to her, on her neck.
Either we have sensitive skin or the product was a ruse.
But, everything was okay once she used the cooling powder thingy.
She did mention that it worked fine on my sister though.

On the same day that I mailed back the whole Paula’s Choice products, I went back to the Dermatologist I used to visit since I was a teen.
Just to buy their products (which was on the expensive side considering how small the packaging are).
I didn’t see the doctor since the queue line is always so long.
I did see her last year though and she added one more product to my regime.

When I met my other half, he was asking me why my skin was so bad.
I had to explain all these to him.

 

 

Anyway, I didn’t get that “surgery compliment” until I started one more thing since a week back.
Lemon Water!

Just half a lemon with a glass of water.
If you read online, it should be warm.
I’d usually go with room temperature water.

I was finding another natural detox drink to aid in my digestion because it has not been healthy lately (probably because of stress) and decided to try this.

The benefits of drinking lemon water:

  1. Aids Digestion
  2. Cleanses Your System / is a Diuretic
  3. Boosts Your Immune System
  4. Balances pH Levels
  5. Reduces inflammation
  6. Clears Skin
  7. Energizes You and Enhances Your Mood
  8. Promotes Healing
  9. Helps fight viral infections
  10. Freshens Breath
  11. Hydrates Your Lymph System
  12. Aids in Weight Loss
  13. Excellent source of potassium
  14. Freshens your breath
  15. Helps to cut out caffeine

If you’ve not tried this yet, do give it a go.

Oh yeah… Do remember this portion though.
To protect your teeth enamel, wait at least half an hour before brushing your teeth after chewing, drinking or rinsing with lemon juice.
It sounds odd, but the abrasive materials in toothpaste can further damage tooth enamel weakened by acid.
Instead, try washing your mouth out with water, eating cheese or drinking milk to neutralize the acid.
Consuming dairy products after acidic foods or drinks also can reduce the possibility of dental erosion.
In the meantime, wait at least an hour to brush, and use a fluoride toothpaste to protect your teeth and reduce sensitivity.

Medical Precautions Note:
If you suffer from heartburn, kidney or gall bladder problems or have a citrus allergy consult your doctor before using these remedies or drinking lemon juice.
Rubbing lemon juice or oil and drinking lemon juice is not suitable for children under the age of 10.
Lemons are effective home remedies for a variety of health concerns but in the case of serious illness always consult your doctor first.

When life gives you lemons, make lemon water.
Ooooh… the benefits are awesome!

❤ Icesabel

5 thoughts on “Elixir of Perfection

Shoutout!

