Singapore Hijab Movement

Gosh.. I really apologise for being so ignorant about what’s been happening that’s even closer to me.
Didn’t know about this until yesterday.
/sigh

Do note that this might be quite religious in context.

First of all, it’s subjective enough that although I am a Muslim, I have not been donning as I should.
But, before either side of the pages start to shoot me down, it will be me to answer to my own choices.

Except that my view is actually quite stringent contrary to some.
Meaning, I do not believe that just covering yourself from head to toe, for example, the girls who would wear tight thin-clothed clothing and yet donning the hijab, is any different from not covering your body.
Essentially, you’re not supposed to be showing your body and attracting the wrong notion.
But, no, I do not believe in covering every single facet of yourself aka even covering the face.

I do know that I’ll be doing it the right way when I want to do so full-heartedly.
Unfortunately, I’ve heard a lot about it being a fad (or even fashion) and those who are forced by their family rules right here.

You don’t do this because of another human.
You do it because of God.
You don’t do it halfheartedly and He knows your true heart’s intentions.
Wallahu’alam bissawab (it means “and Allah knows the right”).

I’m not perfect, I don’t know everything and I don’t think I have much right in saying much in this though.

But, no one has the right to judge anyone else as though they know what God knows.
You do not know what others have done, are doing, going through, and will become, so, look at yourself in the mirror and refine your own perspectives and self before picking on another to justify your elitism beliefs.

I respect what others believe in, whether they have a religion or not, so, I would appreciate it if people were to respect others as well.

Alright, down to what’s going on.

Yaacob Ibrahim, country’s Minister for Communications and Information, and Minister-in-charge of Muslim Affairs.

This was what he stated:

  1. Recently, the hijab issue has garnered renewed attention in mainstream and social media. The PAP Malay MPs and I are aware of this concern as it has been raised in our discussions with our community. We have discussed the matter with PM and my Cabinet colleagues.
  2. This issue is important to many Muslim Singaporeans. But that doesn’t mean that we should use abusive and disrespectful language in discussing it. Personal attacks on former Mufti Shaikh Syed Isa Semait and current Mufti Dr Fatris Bakaram are completely uncalled for. They will not bring the discussions forward, much less solve any problems. Such behaviour reflects badly on those who engage in it. Let us always treat each other with due respect, whether in our own Muslim community or when engaging those belonging to other faiths.
  3. Singaporeans enjoy freedom of religion. Everyone has the right to practise his or her respective faith. This right also entails a responsibility – to promote mutual respect and understanding among different religious groups, and to preserve the common space that all groups share.
  4. I’m sure that the Muslim community treasures the peace and harmony that depends on this mutual respect and understanding. We have worked hard to achieve this harmony, and accepted the compromises and restraints that are necessary in a multi-religious society. Hence Muslims have been able to practise our religion freely and peacefully, as have people of other religions.
  5. Look around us. Muslim women enjoy many freedoms in Singapore. They don the hijab in many situations, including in Parliament, the highest elected chamber in the land.
  6. As for wearing the hijab at work, I’m glad that many employers do exercise flexibility for those who follow specific religious practices, and ensure that employees who wear the hijab are not disadvantaged.
  7. But some professions require uniforms which do not include the hijab. Most Muslims recognise that if we allow employees or officers to modify their uniforms for religious reasons, particularly for the police and the military, it would be very problematic. We do not allow police officers or SAF servicemen to wear or display conspicuous religious symbols on their uniforms or their faces. Nor do we allow Muslim police women officers to wear the hijab on duty. But when they are out of uniforms, they are free to wear the hijab, as indeed many do going to and from work.
  8. We need constructive dialogue to promote better mutual understanding of the diverse needs and requirements in our multi-racial and religious society. This process will take time, but I’m confident that we will find practical solutions if there is goodwill all round.
  9. I urge our community to remain patient and understanding. My colleagues and I will continue our discussions with our community. Negotiating our common space in a way that all are comfortable with is a continuing work in progress. Muslims have to do this, as do people of other faiths. We have come a long way together as a society, and we should approach the adjustments that will be needed from time to time with the same spirit of tolerance and mutual respect.

Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean commented: “Government understands these community perspectives, but, the Government also has the responsibility to balance all these different community requirements and keep in mind what we need to maintain overall social harmony.”

Mdm Halimah Yacob, speaker of Parliament, posted in Facebook:
“I hope that at some point, the Government will review its position on hijab for the nurses.”

From Bro Nailul Hafiz:
Lets LIKE the Singapore Hijab Movement page.

  • Its not about politics.
  • It is not about saying that those without Hijab are lesser.
  • Its about a hope, a request, a deep rooted need of those of us who practice hijab to be allowed to uphold our modesty in a way our belief requires us to do.
  • Its about not being discriminated from the education & job opportunities within our public space just because we look different.
  • Its about being accepted as equal and measured by our merits in a nation that we love and cherish.

When I was really young, I did ask my mum once (who was a staff nurse for 40 years) why she wouldn’t wear her hijab when she went to work (at a hospital).
Guess I was young, naive and curious.

Compared to my other siblings and friends, I was the only one sent to a Madrasah (for kindergarten of 2 years) before I was sent to an English primary school.
Although, all of my siblings and I were sent to different types of Islamic classes on week nights and Sundays afterwards.
Maybe that was probably why I learned to embrace and studied Islam at my own time and pace, because I was intrigued with every element of it, even now.
There’s more to it than just what you read or listen to what Imams/scholars have to say.
Although, I do think that my younger siblings are way goody-two-shoes than I am right now.
I’m a bit too open-minded for my own liking sometimes.

Anyway, the only thing she said was that she wasn’t allowed to.
I was confused, but, instead of asking why, I asked her “Isn’t it wrong to take it off?”
Knowing well enough that she has already gone for hajj and whatnot.

Maybe not wanting to explain in further detail, she only mentioned that it was on her own part to answer that to God.
I knew at that moment that there are some things that are just out of our control.
(Always been a deep thinker since at a young age, so please do not ask if I really concluded like so.)

I don’t see why there is any wrong in donning the hijab at work.
English school will be a little tougher because girls would have to wear skirts and short-sleeved shirt.
But, a nurse or policewoman can easily tuck in the ends of their hijab into their shirt.
They can use an exact colour to match! =D

We can always work something out.
Compromising of some sort?
If Singapore is what they keep saying she is, then she should stay a multi-cultural, multi-racial and multi-religious country.

At the end of it all, all we want is to live harmoniously, without any discrimination, with each other.

 

❤ Icesabel

10 thoughts on “Singapore Hijab Movement

  1. I read the piece word for word and t is most interesting. Knowing also that here, it is also an issue. Now I and I think you to feel that it depends on how you interpreter the words written. And your perspective on things. And that it causes a clash within religion it self as well.
    My view was always if God created me then look at what he made. 😀
    Great piece on the Hijab, though.

    • Yes, there is always a different interpretation of our Holy book by different people within the same religion.
      He made a lot of wonderful things. 🙂
      Thanks. Well, smile as always!

  2. Hmmm…Very interesting. I agree with you on most of the part. If people say that everybody has a freedom to be who or whatever they want to be i.e gay rights and whatnot..then why not Hijab?
    I think it just shows their double standards. And I’m not talking about a particular area , I’m talking a s a whole.
    Great post !

    • Thanks. Yeah.. I just hope that they would make some compromise.

      If people were to suddenly kick me out of my job just because I decide to wear a hijab, that would really be no valid reason to why I should be discriminated for I am still myself with the same amount of skills and experience for the job and with the same character as I used to be. It’s not as if I’ll be turning into someone who’d even want to convert others to my beliefs or think that I’m special or should be treated any different from everyone else. The other ladies would think the same too. It doesn’t cause any problems or distress to anyone. It’s a pity that some people find the slightest excuse just because it doesn’t coincide with, probably their own personal preferences, and instil that belief to everyone else to make others think that “yes, they are correct” without looking at the big picture. /sigh What is the world coming to? 😦

  3. Everyone is free to do whatever he or she feels is right to do. No one can force anyone to do something they disagree with.
    Your life not theirs. #Freedom #Life
    Totally agree 🙂

  4. I am all for the Hijab but at the same times, all Muslims must be banned from gambling sites in Singapore as well. Especially in the Singapore pools betting outlets. Its a shame to see Muslims in the queues waiting to place bets, some even in Tudung. There should also be a ban of public consumption of alcohol, its a disgrace to the religion.

    • It is wrong according to the school of thought here is Sg. I’m ashamed when people do so as well. But, I think that it is touching on a different topic. That would touch more upon wanting Islamic laws being implemented within Sg laws instead of the topic that we are looking into, which is placing into action of what we’ve been saying in our pledge, etc for being a multi-religious country and for imparting peace and tolerance between our differences.
      That would be pushing too far. This isn’t an Islamic country and it’s not advisable to do so. All we want for this is to allow Muslim ladies to work where ever they choose to without discrimination of wearing a hijab.
      If they were not taught or choose not to follow the laws of Islam, they are accountable for their own wrongdoings between themselves and God. If they were in a country governed based on Islam, that would probably be held upon on a step higher because it is part of their country’s law.

Shoutout!

