The Liebster Award

Sweet Alona from shanatalks nominated me for the Libster Award.
Thank you! ❤

What is a Liebster?
In German , it means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.

This Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers.

As with most awards, there are rules tied to it!

  1. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  2. Answer the questions designated by the blogger(s) who nominated you.
  3. Place YOUR nominations for the Liebster Award! Nominate five (or more) other bloggers that have less than 200 followers. Make sure to notify them via comment/email, etc.
  4. Make up a set of questions for those nominated bloggers to answer.
  5. Display the Liebster award badge on your blog!

 

 

11 facts about me?!!!

Oh dear.. I’ve written too much about me all over the blog.
I’m not sure what I’ve not written.
>_<
Give me some time to list this out…

 

  1. I… love.. tulips..
    The only other thing that can ever cheer me up, should I be in my lowest low of my life.
    It’s pretty expensive and difficult to get those really gorgeous ones to be brought in to Singapore.
    Plus, they don’t last long in Singapore’s really hot climate.
  2. Put a pretty bike in front of me and you’ll see another side of me!!
    I have a real soft spot for bikes.
    I don’t have an obsession with them.
    Neither do I own any.
    But, I’ve got to confess that whenever I pass through car-parks and see these smexy sport bikes, I would caress them so gently as I pass by.
    I hope none of their owners ever see me doing so. rofl~
    Ick >_<
    Omg.. that’s the first time I ever said that online or to anyone at all!
  3. I do NOT like cars at all.
    But, see me stare, like a small kid, at a jeep until it becomes just a dot in the distance, as one whizzes by.
    It’s a rare sight to see one in Singapore.
    So, when I do get to catch a glimpse… you’ll never wake me up to reality until it’s gone from sight!
  4. I’ve always being constantly called a “Jack of all trades, master of none“.
    I have a habit of wanting to do what I see others are doing (only if I deem it to be interesting at that point of time).
    Plus, I never did know what I really wanted to do as I was growing up, so, I was doing all sorts of things.
    Hmmm.. I’m competitive, by nature.- Joined competitions in Maths, English Language, Malay Language literature and Art Designing and won something.. somehow.- Was a sprinter in 100m and 200m and a long-distance runner in 400m and marathons for 10 years and would usually win first or second.

    – Probably for 6 or 7 years I would always perform on stage to sing, dance or modelling whilst in school

    – I self-taught myself to play the keyboard, which I found lying in my grandparents’ store room when I was around 8 and I loved singing, so, I would write songs by myself for years.

    – I joined and quit the school band when I was 9, which lasted a week, and thought that it sucked to be in one, but, I joined the school military band when I was 15 to play the flute and jumped a rank in just a few months even when my “senior” flautists refuse to teach me because they thought that I would surpass them. They made sure I had a hell of a time, but, I taught my juniors (the next year’s batch) with love and patience even when the “seniors” didn’t want to teach. Because  I knew how it felt to have to train myself from scratch alone by myself. Lots of competitions there.

    – When the choir didn’t have enough people in it (I was 13 back then), they tested everyone in our pitch and I even surprised myself to hit the very high notes. Everyone, including my pretty music teacher (who became one my of best friends later on) kept prompting me to join until I said ok… and there I was.. part of the first soprano (maybe because I used to always sing Mariah Carey’s songs since young.. /shrugs.. I don’t know..) team. Lots of competitions too.

    – My music teacher wasn’t my only bestie (who’d bring me to eat out and join other outside competitions and events outside of school, together with another 3 of my friends). I had a beautiful (she was nominated the most good-looking teacher in school) art teacher who became my bestie as well. While the rest of the school took up the usual art projects for our final year art project, another girl and me took up Fashion Design. So, the 3 of us hanged out a lot during that one particular year.

    – I was actually close to another 2 teachers as well, another Art/English Language teacher and an Discipline Mistress/English Language teacher. I would help the A/E teacher with a lot of things whenever I had free time. The DM/E teacher once accused me of plagiarism for my English essays, but, after finding me innocent, ermm.. I don’t know.. she liked to pick me amongst a few of us to be an example of some sort. I just.. love.. reading and writing.

    – I took up Martial Arts (Silat) when I was in my late teens for 2 years. I finally quit because I knew I can never join any of its sparring competitions due to me being underweight. I’ve tried gaining weight a couple of times, but, never enough to reach the specific weight group for my age, but, I did manage to perform for a couple of events.

    – I used to have an obsession with swimming, cycling and soccer. But, none was on competitive terms.

    – Sports? I continued on to be a sports coordinator in a Student’s Council whilst in university. Any kinds of sports.

    – Don’t think this is mastering anything in any way… but.. I actually hate Maths, but, when I was 15 and 16, I had to take up Accounts as part of a compulsory curriculum. I would fail my tests and exams.. ’cause I really hated it. Not until the teacher started picking on me in class and telling me in my face that I would fail this subject for my final year. I couldn’t care less about her bullying me. But, I studied for the final exams and got an A for it. She was dumbfounded. Nah.. I never told her it’s just not something I wanted to do.

    – This would bring anyone to ask why I took up Banking and Finance for my degree. It was mostly because of an ex-boyfriend. I wanted to take up a degree in IT since I’ve just finished my Polytechnic Diploma in IT, but, he told me that IT was not a lucrative industry to be in. I was with him for 3 years and thinking that we would stay long together, I listened to him on the advice that his friends had spots in the Finance industry and that a good pay was not a problem. I suffered during my final year in university after I finally had the courage to leave him for cheating on me so many times and I had kept forgiving him and hoping he would change. I failed my final year and repeated another full year, got into lots of family problems because of shortage of money (school fees were expensive). I then vowed never to ever like finance even if a million people would tell me that I would get a huge amount of money. I hate every single moment someone told me to not be in IT and be in the finance industry instead. They don’t need to know the real truth. Although, I’ve already explained it here. It changed me my perspective on not to ever listen to anyone except myself and always go for where my passion lies.

    swiss-army-knife

     

     

  5. I have a weakness for people who seem pitiful.
    I’d just die inside seeing old people in need of help.. poor people asking for money.. those with disabilities.. ermm.. even animals with some kind of problem.. if I can even restrain myself from allowing my tears to flow in public.
    It makes me thankful for what I have and staying grounded.
    I just feel that they are way stronger than most of us, mentally, physically and emotionally.. to be able to go that far.I have a weakness for my (blood) family too, even how much family problems we have. =X
    Thing is.. if a group of people or just random friends are really close to me, I’d call them family as well.
  6. I need 8 – 9 hours of sleep a day.
    Once I miss that, it accumulates on to the next day.
    So, for example, by the end of the week, should I have missed a total of 8 hours, I’d sleep 16 hours during any of my weekend night.
    Not enough sleep would mean.. not as attentive.. if I don’t get a payback for a long time.. there would be a huge possibility of getting a high fever.
    Then again, when the weather is too hot, I’d get fever too. >_>
  7. I have very sensitive skin. I have breakouts on my face and every part of my body..
    – should the weather be too hot
    – when I’m very stressed
    – when I try a new product and my skin hates it
    Thus, I’ve been visiting a dermatologist since I was 15.
  8. 8 is my favourite number!
    Haha.. ok for real.. I’ve always wanted to live in the mountains around greenery with lots of animals, near a lake so I can go swimming or row a boat whenever I wanted to and keep a white tiger as a pet!
  9. Young naive me used to think that I could love EVERYONE no matter what, even when I was bullied since kindergarten until I was 14.
    Then, I gave up that utopia mindset because of the constant “beat-up” from the thoughtless humans around me.
    That does not mean that I have stopped loving though. ❤ ❤ ❤
    love 
  10. I love the night.
    I love looking at the stars.
    I love being at peace.
    I reflect on my days during the night to learn or be thankful and to fix issues.
  11. I believe in “what goes around, comes around“.
    Unfortunately for me, it’s usually instant karma on me.. so, I try not to do or say something I might regret.
    For example, blowing up and being angry at someone without being patient enough.
    But being human, I’m not perfect, so, I always get slapped in the face pretty often.

Questions by Alona

  1. Do you name your gadget(s)? If yes, what names did you give them?
    No particular names. But, I usually call my personal computer, my beloved boyfriend.
    When at work, while handling the equipments (I’m in IT), I’ll just treat them nicely and just say hello or touch them softly.
    LOL~
    That is why most hardware and software love mehhhhhhh.. ok.. just.. joking.
  2. Can you list five things you can’t live without?
    My faith, my loved ones, my gaming laptop/desktop.. wow.. didn’t know it’d be this hard.. I guess that’s all?
    I can live without a smartphone and social media.
  3. If you’d be given a day to switch lives with anybody, who would it be?
    Any strong lady who has given her life, soul and faith in helping humanity, just like Mother Teresa.
  4. Can you share a quote from a movie you’ve seen or a book you’ve read that at one point became your life’s mantra?
    I wouldn’t based a movie or book on a life’s mantra.
    My life’s mantras are based on life experiences and it changes as I change with the environment and places I’ve been and people who I’ve met and left.
  5. What’s the worst book/movie you’ve read/seen recently?
    No idea.
    Worst? I’m not exactly a good critic.
    I usually see the good in the bad unless it really made me bored to death, but, none that I can recall.
    Truthfully, I will not bother to recall any fiction movie or book unless it means a lot to me.

 

 

Nominations!!!

thegeekyg4mer

justwroteablog

pastramination

peters365photos

jimmyvsworld

 

 

Questions for you!

  1. If you could travel anywhere in the world (in this case, money is not an objection), where would you go? Why?
  2. Do you have a bucket list? Whether it’s a yes or no, create one and list them out. Then, would you do any of these before you pass on?
  3. If there was a zombie apocalypse, would you stay in a place with lots of supplies forever or go out there and live dangerously, even if there is no chance of getting to real safety with other people (should you EVER find any living thing)?
  4. What was the best thing that has ever happened in your life?
  5. Who would you be if you could be someone else for a day?
3 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. So, apparently, I have been nominated for this. I appreciate it, but I am WAY too busy to go through all the rigamarole associated with this award. I congratulate whoever wins, though.

    • Hi Lucian.. actually, this isn’t a winning sort of award.
      It’s more of a tagging system.
      Where and when it started was not known, but, it’s to help spread the word for blogs with less than 200 followers.
      Unless yours have more, then, I’m sorry >_< I'll pull you out from my list.
      But, basically, you'll have to do the following after being nominated.

      1. List 11 random facts about yourself.
      2. Answer the questions designated by the blogger(s) who nominated you.
      3. Place YOUR nominations for the Liebster Award! Nominate five (or more) other bloggers that have less than 200 followers. Make sure to notify them via comment/email, etc.
      4. Make up a set of questions for those nominated bloggers to answer.
      5. Display the Liebster award badge on your blog!

      • Ah, and all my respect for this just died. It’s pretty much the same as those emails that said “send this to 10 people and your wish will come true!” Well, I don’t have energy for that, either. But thanks for the thought.

Shoutout!

