Neverwinter Beta 2

Only started playing it 8 hours after its opening.
If only I wasn’t feeling so sickly.
Neither did I play on the last day, as it’s a Monday for me and I can’t game at work.

Initially, I created a Control Wizard, but, after hearing how cool the cleric is, I created that instead and didn’t regret one bit.
So, here’s what I think of the game… nope.. this is in no way a review.
Just my two cents worth of thoughts.

 

 

 

Graphics
When I first went in, I was actually disappointed. (*≧m≦*)
Okay… it’s a real improvement from Dungeons and Dragons Online, which I did try playing for a few days a long time ago.
Maybe I was expecting a spectacular graphically gorgeous mouth-watering  game like Aion, GW2, Rift and Tera!!!
But, overall, it’s alright.
I actually love the animations though.

Riding my horse with my wolf pet.

You get a pet to fight alongside you and a mount, both free as you do your quests.
You can buy better ones from NPCs using gold or Zen.

 

 

 

Gameplay
I reckoned that this is the best portion of the game!
From the starting, you’ll be brought through a through tutorial and if you listen and follow on, the game actually teaches you everything from scratch…
In fact, as if you’re spoon-fed the whole way as you level.

But, the awesome part comes by as you’re of a higher level and starts to wander off to more powerful bosses and super aggro and compact locations.
It’s actually a minus point there.. ALL mobs are aggro and the aggro radius is actually quite huge compared to all other MMORPGs.
I can safely say all in the last part because in most MMORPGs…
I’m one of those who would take the time to jump around hills/cracked boulders..etc.. and find places to skip the aggros while wanting to reach my destination.
Not sure if they’d change that feature.

Anyway, my point is, you have to really control your character.
Does not allow you to hard-select people to heal.. you’ll have to move around and point to that certain someone to heal.
That’s not the fun part.
The part where it excites me is that you are the controller of your character… dodge, hit, heal, and move as if you’re in PVP the whole time.
You’ll have to be alert 24/7.
Every class has a dodge feature, you’ll use it until it becomes a second nature to you.

 

 

 

Cleric!

As a cleric, you can place full damage as your primary skills, but, overall, your skills are mainly heals, including what they call “feats”.
Something that you can place your points in to choose whether you want to go pure heals or more to defending or hybrid of everything.
Oh yes… you can’t place points in your skills.
You’ll get all skills as you level, but you can freely choose what combo you’d like to make out of your character based on your game-play.


 

 

 

Zen Market

This is what their cash shop or money making scheme  called.
So, why’d you play $200 for a pack earlier?
(I won’t even start bantering on you paying for your beta keys) (.=^・ェ・^=)
They’d probably give you some money back to spend on these stuff.
If this feature is up, it sure means that it’ll be f2p (free to play).

In fact, they have a gold-zen feature.

 

 

 

Foundry & Events

Another different thing about this game is the Foundry and daily events.
Foundry is where you can create user-content and allow other players to play “your game”.
Daily events is a change from the usual normal quest grinding.

One qualm about the events that places you into random parties.
Not really sure how they choose you and place you into one.. but there were times when there was 4 healers in a 5-man party.
Luckily.. there wasn’t any good drop. (゜-゜)

 

 

 

Puzzles

I’m not sure whether there are more puzzles as you progress.
But, as you go forth, you’ll need to find certain things or finish a puzzle to open doors/pathways.
I like that.

 

 

 

Enchanting
Not sure why, but I was attracted to enchanting.
Each rune can be “upgraded” which are called rune fuse.
4 lower level runes = 1 higher level rune.

But each rune allow you to choose one of the 3 colours (yellow, green and red), to be slotted into a certain coloured slot in an equipment.


 

 

 

L4D

Last but not least… nothing to do with this game.. but with another game.
I remember playing a map where you’d have to go through a cemetery with this exact outlook in L4D (part 1).
Rofl~ ┗(^0^)┓
Used to think that the tank would pick up those tombstones and throw at my face… when the fact was that he was picking up rocks out of thin air.

 

 

 

I would love my girls to be prettier and have more nicer hairstyles.
The hair rendering is actually horrible. (×_×;)

Overall, I enjoyed it!
I’d have to give it a very low point for the not-so-awesome graphics.
But, everything else was good.
As all betas, there were a couple of hiccups and bugs, but, if they were to tweak a handful of things, it’s actually quite polished.

I guess what made me like it was the fact that you truly get to control your character and be on your feet and get all excited like a little kid over every boss fight.
Even if you were to kill the same one again, it won’t be in the same way.

Shoutout!

