Indo

I lived with my grandparents (mum’s side) from birth until I was 15.
Thus, I grew up living in an Indonesian-type of family.
I’ve been to my great-grandma’s village in Padang, Indonesia, a lot of times…
To visit my late great-grandma who was still alive until I was in my mid teens.
My great-grandma was much more energetic and stronger than any of my grandparents and she was already 90+.
Probably because of living in a clean-environment village, eating healthy food and working hard in the fields.

They have electricity
But not all homes have tvs…
With no street lights at night…
High in the mountains…
Surrounded by acres of padi fields…
Lots of farms…
Animals walking freely around…
A gorgeous waterfall together with a free-flowing beautiful river.

My grandpa is Banjarese while my grandma is an orang minang.
(my dad side: grandma is chinese and grandpa is malay-arab)
My food staples were all those yummy extremely hot Indo food.
I could just eat jering with plain rice and still be a happy girl.
Life was simple… just as I like it.

Whenever my late great-grandma came by to Singapore, we’d bring her to visit awesome places.
We’d sing Indonesian and Malaysian songs.
Although a couple of people said that I looked like my late great-grandma, I think I look more like my dad.
I miss those times.

So, one of my fave songs to sing with them is this one piece (below).
This was one of those songs where you have to twist your voice up and down to get the nice “curvaceous” sounds.
Probably the first song that taught me to control my voice.
Nah… I don’t sing anymore.
Last, being in the choir in my teens.. I’m happy with ending it there.

My grandma and late great-grandma would sometimes speak in their own language, which I understand not one bit.
It does not at the slightest bit, sound Malay or the typical Indo.
So, I won’t be able to catch a single word they say.

That’s pretty much how I learned a couple of languages.
Listening to how people talk and watching their gestures.
That’s how I understand what people say without really fully grasping what they’re saying.
It’s fun to do so.

This song was, of course, sung by a minang lady.
But, I actually like the version sung by this Malaysian lady named Aishah, as in the video below.

 

 

Shoutout!

