I’m Back!

 

Guess who’s back? Back again…
Ice is back.. tell a friend..
Guess who’s back… guess who’s back..
lol~

I’ve been contracted with an eye and throat infection since yesterday.
Roflmao~
Probably not my luck to stay in good shape on the last day there.

I was in Bangkok from last Tuesday all to yesterday and was way too busy and tired to blog.
So.. here’s the summary of the week!

Was at Changi Airport Terminal 2 and found a small LAN gaming spot to play some games.
They only hold Black Ops, Fifa and Prince of Persia.

T2 Lan

T2 Lan

Airport Lan Gaming

Airport Lan Gaming

After 2 hours of flight, the rain started to pour heavily whilst in the taxi to my hotel.
There was a slight traffic jam on the way too.
I was pretty tired when I reached the hotel.

But, was pretty happy to see the huge room that I get all to myself.
lol~
Too big for my liking… yes.. seriously.

Hotel Room

Hotel Room

It was already evening after unpacking my stuff and decided to head out for dinner.
There was traffic jam everywhere!
In fact, even the train station was so packed that I decided to walk instead of taking any transport.
It was my first day there… so.. a little exploration on foot wouldn’t hurt.

I was walking on the street, so I passed by rows and rows of night market stalls all the way to my first stop.
Interesting on what you can see and get from these stalls.
From cheap jewelry to clothes to accessories to pirated DVDs and “branded” goods.

BKK Road

BKK Road

First stop… Terminal 21.
Love the deco.
Nice stuff to buy.. but in my opinion.. a little pricey.
I didn’t buy anything there.
Just one round in the mall and headed out.

Terminal 21 Shops

Terminal 21 Shops

Terminal 21 Shops Deco

Terminal 21 Shops Deco

This place is popular with the fact that it’s designed to have a look and feel of being in an airport and being at different countries/destinations on each level.
Pretty neat.

Terminal 21 Airport Design

Terminal 21 Airport Design

They even have Robinsons.
Didn’t know they had a franchise in BKK too.

Robinsons

Robinsons

Next stop… Central World.
A nice place to walk around.
Didn’t buy anything there.
The stuff prices were pretty much the same as in Singapore.
Pricey.

CentralWorld

CentralWorld

Had my dinner at a Japanese stall.
It was super yummy.
Saba is my fave japanese dish.
I can’t eat raw food.. I’ll just puke them all out.
So, sushi choices would be pretty limited for me.

Saba Set

Saba Set

Sawadikap~
Says.. Ronald…

Thai Ronald McDonald

Thai Ronald McDonald

Took the BTS train back.
I actually got lost while walking back.
It’s already horrible enough that I can barely remember places while walking at night in Singapore..
What more at somewhere I’ve never been before.
Luckily, I remembered a couple of landmarks nearby.

Had this custard creamy thingy for dessert in my room that I had bought earlier.
Really yummy.
Should’ve bought more.

Custard

Custard

The first day of the IT Workshop was great!
I shall not post pictures of the workshop.

It was awesome for the fact that we were going through some issues and problems faced by all the Asia country offices.
From there, I learned so much things from them.
Plus, having to share the same experiences and thoughts, made me feel that I wasn’t the only one facing the same thing.
It just felt great that some of the problems will be looked into in greater detail and someone from the “higher” floor will listen.

After we dispersed, I headed out to Siam Bts stop.
Walked some more.

Siam BTS

Siam BTS

Ratchaprasong District

Ratchaprasong District

Prayers

Prayers

Bus Stop

Bus Stop

Here I am!
Siam Paragon
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paragon

For the rich… yes.. the rich.. I can’t afford these stuff~
Not in Thailand.. not in Singapore.
Ok.. technically I can.. but it means that I’d be cutting my other expenses and savings off.
Which is a WASTE OF MONEY!
But it’s nice to just walk around.. wasting time.
lol~

Siam Paragon

Siam Paragon

Finally made time for dinner and had this bowl of hot fish noodle which only cost 50 baht.
I was like.. wth.. it’s so cheap!
O.o
Plus, it was yummy too!

Fish Noodle

Fish Noodle

Time to shop!

Bargaining is a must!
I wouldn’t buy anything above 250 baht for each item.
It depends though.

Night Market

Night Market

And so… I saw A&W!
It’s already extinct in Singapore.
I did find one while in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia last year.
So, here’s one in Bangkok, Thailand.
I love the ice cream waffles and root beer float!

A&W

A&W

Yup.. that’s about all that I bought for the day.
I was saving up the money I brought with me for my last day shopping escapade!

Stuff

Stuff

The second day of the IT Workshop was just as awesome.
This time, our new global CIO who will start joining our organization next month joined us.
From what I see, it’s a promising future for the org.
Well… hopefully.

There were more technical details we went through on the second day.
More on SOPs, firewall, networking, applications, my presentation on the sharepoint and our intranet, etc.
We had audio conference with the different people in charge of the different subjects from HQ.
Really enjoyed it.
Except that I started to get a headache nearing the end of the day.
Too much technical stuff that my brain tried to absorb all at once.
Ouch~

We had dinner together afterwards.
Had a great time eating, talking.. joking…… lots and lots of them!

The IT HQ in-charge aka the troublemaker asked my ex-boss, IT Asia regional manager, to send me out to our Afghanistan or Pakistan office.
I was like.. *speechless*
And my ex-boss was saying.. “I have an idea”… since it’s tough for the IT peeps who are all guys to help the lady workers with the IT issues..
They could transfer me over to those countries.
Whaaaa…
And that’s after describing to me how the situation is over there.
Sure… they were joking.
But I think.. it’d be pretty interesting.

I was supposed to go over to DPRK earlier this year before going to Myanmar.
But they rejected on allowing 2 people of the same organization to enter at the same time.
So, my ex-boss went without me.

But most of them invited me to fly over to their country offices.
I did speak to my direct boss about the travelling part earlier this month.
But… shoot.. I budgeted to travel to only 2 countries for next year.
Should’ve requested for 4 or 5.

Dinner 1

Dinner 1

Dinner 2

Dinner 2

Dinner 3

Dinner 3

Dinner 4

Dinner 4

The 3rd day of the IT Workshop was of a “lighter mode”.
Great just as well.
We ended early and I went out for dinner at MBK and went back just as early.

Dinner

Dinner

My last day n BKK and day off to shop all I want… Saturday!

Saturday

Saturday

Oh by the way, I was staying on the 29th floor.

Hotel View

Hotel View

Breakfast of congee and cereal before heading out.

Breakfast

Breakfast

I woke up at 9!
I forgot to set the alarm!!!!
Was planning to start out early… but.. oh well..
So, here’s the view of the back of my hotel.
As you can see, there’s a huge park behind it.

Hotel View

Hotel View

Here I am.. at the famous Platinum Fashion Mall.
It’s on the same road as CentralWorld.. just further ahead.

The Platinum Fashion Mall

The Platinum Fashion Mall

Sorry.. I just find it amusing that there was a media error on the huge screen.

Player

Player

Spent 7 hours in that mall.
Bought so many things for myself, friends and family!
Most of the shops would sell at a warehouse price when you buy either 2 or 3 pieces (depending on the shop, you’d have to ask first) and above.
Go ahead.. bargain.
I had to buy a luggage to place all the stuff in!
I was too exhausted to do anything else after shopping there.
Was already not get enough sleep from the previous days.

I wanted to take a tuktuk back but even with bargaining with some of them, their price was high.
Giving the reason that there’s a traffic jam all the way to my hotel.
So I took a cab.. but the pink ones, which was at a prefix rate.
The metered one would’ve been nice except when you’re in a traffic jam.

Tuk tuk

Tuk tuk

Ordered room service dinner whilst watching some anime… finally some quiet time to myself.

The morning of Sunday~
I set the alarm this time.
Lol~
Wouldn’t want to miss my flight back.. now… would I?

BKK International Airport

BKK International Airport

Last drink before heading off.
I didn’t have breakfast ’cause I didn’t feel like eating.

Hot Chocolate

Hot Chocolate

Here’s my flight!
Bye Bangkok… I’ve got a feeling that I might go back sooner than you think.
So much more stuff to shop!
I actually spent 60% of my time spending on other people’s stuff.
Next time round.. I’d like to pamper myself.

Singapore Airlines

Singapore Airlines

Shoutout!

